HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Monday, Mar. 24, 2003 - 1:43 P.M.

TITLE
I say my peace because its my right to do it.

ENTRY

I thought I was pretty much done with talking about the current war here, but I have something I need to get off my chest. A clarification of generalizations made and once again has become quite popular.

Yes I am anti-war with Iraq. I�ve not thought for once this war had any meaning I was happy with or willing to back. I am very much unhappy with the current leaders of this country including Bush and all his �advisors�. I am quite sick of his ham fisted ways that degenerate years of peace with countries once our allies.

With each bomb dropped on a major metropolis in Iraq I ache inside at all the casualties sustained by civilians. The same civilians we claim to be liberating from an evil dictator.

And I admit he is evil, but not one of a kind nor the most evil ruler in this world at this time.

I am disgusted by Bush�s tactics and down home boy attitude since day one. And now my only hope is come a year from now there will be enough people out there who will vote against Bush to keep him out of office for another four years.

Like father like son, let us repeat history just one more time.

Yet at the same time I�m a bit thankful for Bush�s moronic stunts in the past. Maybe, just maybe then it has killed off enough credibility that being a �puppet� of the PNAC won�t lead to there �Pax America� as they wish it to be.

Really history has shown the Roman Empire, though peaceful with its iron fist, didn�t work in the end. So let us not repeat such a foolish and self centered rulership again.

Now with all this in mind let me get something straight.

Yes I am anti-Iraqi war, but I am pro-troops. I don�t care of they�re opinions are the opposite of mine. I don�t care if they consider me to be a �sniveling coward� because I found a war with Iraq to be misguided and wrong.

I am not anti-American or anti-patriotic because I choose to utilize they very foundings of this country contrary to popular belief. In fact me standing up for my civil rights despite popular belief makes me more of a patriot then others.

The civil rights are not there to be used when it�s most convenient for you. If are going to use the civil rights ever to back up your claims. Then you who do need to support it fully and not turn your backs on it the moment someone says something you don�t like.

Freedom of speech and press are a way of this country. Our founding father�s set a precedent by stating all who live under America�s rule has the right to say as they wish. So to say �if you don�t like it get the fuck out of the country� goes against these very civil rights you hold so dearly.

Maybe I can understand that attitude if someone comes to this nation for schooling, but hate our country with there every fiber. They where not born of this country nor are they citizens. They gladly partake in our higher learning and should respect that. If they don�t like it then you do have your own home. Don�t come to ours and shit on it as you enjoy the benefits of this country.

But to say this to a fellow American? This is there home just as much as it is yours. What gives you the right to say fuck the civil rights and that you are more American then the person standing up for there civil rights?

Its logic so twisted that some how it makes sense to some people. Personally I don�t get it. It�s my home as well. I may joke about moving at times, but it�s only a joke.

I love this country, my home. And to say otherwise is to show your level of ignorance of me. I will stand by my convictions, as allowed by the very acts I was raised with, and to dare say otherwise shows that you don�t understand the fundamental basic beauties of living in this country.

And I�ll be damned if anyone dares call me un-American or un-patriotic because I choose to go against someone who will at the very most be around for only another five years *one year if we are lucky*.

When it comes to our troops over there they are doing a job they signed up for. A job where they do as being told and proudly stand up to fight for our country. Even if some of them don�t agree with what is going on that is not the point in question. To show there loyalty to this country to get a job done when asked is more then most can say they have ever or will ever do for there love of a country.

So many are dissatisfied with there job, but would you die for it?

These men and women will. And for this I applaud them. For this I will stand and cheer for them without once bringing to point my opposition for what they did. For this I set aside my disgust for this army and give proper respect for those who fight and die under our nation�s flag.

I do not blame them for doing there job. I do not wish them to personally destroy there lives by apposing there commanding officers because they don�t agree with what the President has said or is doing. I do not ask them to commit an act of treason that is punishable by death just to stand up for there beliefs.

They are my beliefs and by no means will I project them onto these people nor will I blame them for carrying out there duties.

I carry sympathy for all the families who lose a loved one in this �war�. I weep for there loses and hope that they can carry on. Even if deep down inside I believe they died for all the wrong reasons. I will not state this fact to these people because in the face of death to consciously choose to voice my displeasure of what happened would be to disgrace the death of there loved ones.

And in death it doesn�t matter how you died, it is tragic no matter how it has happened.

I will instead swallow my beliefs and instead sympathize and give my condolences to the people who have lost someone. No matter what I believe here there are matters bigger then political issues. I recognize this fact and give it proper consideration.

To state otherwise insults me, my character, and everything I stand for. And personally I will not abide to such a character assassination. If you don�t agree with me, fine, that is your choice like it�s my choice to state mine.

But try and not be a hypocrite when you voice your own displeasure of my beliefs.

And with matters of how some people choose to protest this war. Personally I�m appalled by a lot of people�s actions. To strong arm there way into a peaceful solution makes them as bad as the people they protest.

To think destroying someone�s business in the name of peace. To think it�s ok to tear down the flag and rip it to shreds every time you are not satisfied with what is going on. To throw acid on someone in the name of �peace� does not make you part of America�s solution. It, in fact, makes you part of America�s problem.

If you stand for peace then show it in your actions. Do not be such a hypocrite and think destroying others business and putting a stop to traffic and halting people�s lives to get your point across is a act of peace.

Now I�ve said my peace. If you have something to say to me in my guestbook about this please speak with a civil tongue. If you want me to take you seriously do not try and slam me for my beliefs or claim you are more American or more patriotic then I am.

Show respect and I will show respect right back.

If you can not do that I suggest taking your compliments somewhere else or don�t be surprised if I�m not nice to you in your own.

Do as you wish to be done to you, not do as you please and not expect me to return the same..

That is all.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!