HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Friday, Oct. 12, 2001 - 6:05 A.M.

TITLE
I get all nostalgic of my days as a theater brat.

ENTRY

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989

"Apparently, Kristian has never seen a Rave before then."

Me

Well there isn't anything of very much interest in my life to update about, same old bullshit. So I'm just going to get a little nostalgic here cause I got nothing better to do.

When I was a child still in pre-school, I knew one simple fact, if I wanted to find my mom, don't go home and look for her there cause nine times out of ten she was at the local theater. Which was preaty convenient for me since my house was four blocks away from the pre-school, but the theater was right behind the old funky theater.

Since my mother has been doing theater all my life, I got to turn that old theater into my own personal play ground. I'll tell yeah, it was preaty old, built somewhere around the turn of the century, and had some funky little nooks and cranies.

Ye old funky theater, or better yet known as the Ramsdel, I have a lot of good memories of this place. From its crushed red velvet seats, to the large doomed ceiling with a murial of cherebs and half naked women in a heaven like setting. There was a balcony area and private booths on the side, but being such a small town, they where but hardly used if at all. The main curtain they had dropped down tell the show started had a large murial of people frolicing in a forest like dwelling, the curtain had all these tiny holes in it from actors to stage hands cutting them so they can take a look at the audience getting ready for the show, quietly chatting.

This theater is where I witnessed my first naked woman. I can't remember what show was running, but I do remember this quite vividly. I have already seen it several times sitting in the audience or one of the empyt privacy booths, so I was getting preaty bored watching it over and over. So I decide to hang out back stage and try and stay out of the way. I was sitting on a costume carrier box, which at the time was bigger then me, right behind the set.

During the show, the lead female actress is in a normal day light scene in her house, then they cut to night time and she is walking around in her night gown with a candelabra, exploring some strange nosies. Well the cut is quick, so she has a few ladies waiting back stage ready to strip her out of her clothes and get her in the night gown. Well this particular night, I was sitting only about ten feet from where they did it. There was no privacy screen for this, no time to hit the dressing rooms to change, and she was wearing absolutely nothing underneath her clothes. I was shocked to my core, there she was buck naked ten feet away from me. I stare for a few seconds, but then get so embaressed I had to look away.

I was like five, what do you expect, I'd run up to her and make hot monkey lovin to her.

I got to tell you, this theater has to be my fondest childhood memories. Me and my brother where allowed free rane throught the whole place. Running around exploring all the costume storages, sneaking into the dressing rooms, to running along the old cat walk to the old dressing rooms now just storage rooms.

This theater is also where I learned that the lady's room is a much nicer place then the men's room. The men's room consisted of two urinals with dividers, a single toilet with a privacy booth, a sink with mirror and soap dispenser. I thought it was the best rest room ever cause it was carpeted and looked so nice, oh was I ever wrong. One day in my many exploriations of the theater, I decided to venture to the unkown, the forbidden land. So after making sure the coast was clear for the uptienth time, I sneaked my way down inside the lady's room. At first I thought I had gone down the wrong flight of stairs. There's a couch, a coffee table with a pot of flowers, paintings on the walls, it looked like a sitting room, where the hell do you take a piss in this joint?? After a point I found the door way to the area that actually resembled a bathroom, but I did spend a good amount of my youth wondering why would someone put a couch in a bathroom though.

Until my mother and father got divorced, me and my mom spent almost everyday of the week at that theater. Since that happened, I seemed to get adopted by many of the stage hands and actors as the little brother of the theater. Apparently I was a cute kid, especially since the first few years of my life my hair was very bright blonde tell it kept getting darker the older I got. From them babysitting me to taking me around from one place to another, to showing me different spots in the theater I wasn't normally allowed to go to. Like the time one of the stage hands took me up to the attic to show me how they changed the light bulbs of the lamps in the doom. So he takes me and my brother up there, and shows us all the shit stored up in there before taking us over to these little holes covered in small plates. He lifts up one of the plates and tells me to look down the hole. So I look down and see a light ficture within hands reach and about twenty feet below me all the seats in the theater. I just about pissed my scooby do underoos at this. Now I got a preaty good fear of heights, well ok its not the high place that bugs me or the possibility of falling, its the sudden stop at the end of the fall that gets me shaking like a Heroin addict during Detox.

These days also contain all my ventures of trying "acting". I put acting in quotes cause I really wasn't acting, they just needed a little kid for a scene and I didn't have anylines. It was a production of Hello Dolly, and one of the scenes is this parade that comes off stage, it was led by this girl I swear me my brother and his best friend all had a crush on. Her leading the parade across the stage and through the audience to exist out to the main lobby. Right behind her was me dressed up like a little soldier in my blue tights and surcoat with a white cross on the chest, clutching a little wooden sword. I tell yeah, with that outfit I had more ladies swooning over me telling me how cute and precise I looked that given me a few more years, I might have garnished that into a full blowned pimp daddy status.

Right behind me in the parade was my brother and his best friend shoulder to shoulder in similiar outfits. Though being the pimply faced pre-teens they where, they didn't recieve nearly the same reaction I did wearing that outfit.

When we got to the main lobby, everyone then had to run out to the front of the theater then make there way to the actors door on the side of the building. I remember this memory as if it happened yesterday. Me, my brother, his best firend and the cute girl who led the band running full bore around the building in the cold early winter weather. Me in my little tights and no shoes, my feet slapping against the cold pavement.

During one of these shows, I was told before hand that my now late grandfather would be in the audience and I should try and wave to him as we pass the audience. It was loke the first or second show, so I was so nervous that I didn't even see him there, just kept my eyes forward and kept marching along. By the next show I had lost a lot of my nervousness and actually got a bit caught up in the role. As we where passing a group of actors on stage playing spectators to the parade, waving and cheering happily. I grinned at them and waved back as we passed by, which resulted a some laughs and "aaaaawwwwwwwww how cute" from people in the audience. And as we are marching along through the isle, I swear I saw this old man that look JUST like my grandfather, so I waved happily to him before disapearing off to the lobby. When we ran back around, I started jumping around all excited telling my mom I saw Grandpa in the audience this time, to bad it turned out it wasn't him and I had missed my chance to last show.

Well, enough with this nostalgia entry, I got bills to pay and people to flip off.

LATER



Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!