HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Sunday, Jun. 02, 2002 - 5:59 A.M.

TITLE
I could try and be more funny here, but I'd much rather speculate about John Cusack movies.

ENTRY

So I get some money in my pocket and guess what my priorities are with the money.

1. Hit the China Buffet.

2. Take advantage of my 50% off on all rentals.

3. Save some money for June 11th.

4. Think about paying off my huge phone bill before its to late.

Yeah, my priorities are set straight.

Actually, this money is money I didn't expect to get and I will be getting paid with money I do expect real soon. So its sort of like found money.

Viva found money!!

So I hit the China Buffet for me much nedded hit of Chinese food. Oh I love me some Chinese food.....can live without anything shrimp related. Though I'm betting that place is a shrimp lovers delight. All sorts of things mixed with shrimp, shrimp wrapped in bacon, big ass shrimp just sitting there on ice. And all for about five bucks as long as you arrive before the end of "lunch" time.

As much as I love Chinese food, I'm afraid to say there was not much note worthy about this recent trip. About the only thing that happened was the Chinese waitress had a real tough time with english. So, when I asked for part of my change to come in quarters, she didn't seem to understand me at first. I explained it to her a bit more slowly cause I have a tendcy of talking so fast my words blur together. Plus its gotta be hella hard to learn a second language while waitressing. She said quarter back to me and I thought she had it right. Tell she came back with my change and there was no quarters.

Of course, being the nice guy I am, I just smiled at her, gave her a little bow of my head and said thank you. Eh, I can always hit the cash register on the way out.

Which reminds me of how people who get so flustered with waiters and waitress who do not speak english well. To the point they are either mad or insultive, I really cann't stand that kind of person.

Hey, you try learning there language while waitressing*waitering* in there country and we'll see how good you do. Bet you will be treated better then you treat that wait*ress*er.

Now the reason I got the quarters is the last time I was there, I noticed that one of the "gum ball" machines had these little aliens in them. I thought they looked pretty cool *most of them being a silver color....yeah, you can see why now I dig them*. Plus they where only a quarter a piece and I feel a need to add a little bit of my wierd touch to my computer desk.

So, I bought like seven of them and they are a lined up in front of my monitor with there giean black eyes and mouths set as if they are saying "oh."

I think the third one from the left is starring at me though.

Actually its sort of creeping me out a bit.

*reaches forward and slowly turns the little alien away from me*

Ah, thats much better.

To bad I don't have a digital camera cause I would take a picture of each of them and show you people. They are kind of cool, especially figuring they ran me a quarter a piece.


So I went to the one and ONLY video rental place in town.

Or the place I like to reffer to as "don't fuck up and lose a movie or run up a late charged bill or I'm fucked."

Yeah, its a real joy having only ONE freakin rental place in town.

Now I mentioned quite a bit ago about a little phenomenom I mentioned about this video store. I'm to lazy to go find it and link the entry, so either you are going to have to trust me or begin reading all my entries.

Its a win win situation for me really.

I had made comment that there is a cornucopia of seriously hot chicks working there.

A plethora of sweety and sexy ladies.

An abudance of fantastically shaped chicas.

A surplus of genetically enginered uber babes.

*checks dictionary*

Whoa, my spelling normally seriously sucks ass, but I managed to spell cornucopia and plethora right. Go figure...

Well, I think someone caught wind of my *conspiracy*, because when I went there all I could find was older, rotund, balding men. Well, one wasn't older and far from balding, but rotund he definetly be.

Hm, part of me is rejoicing of the breaking of such a stereo type, give the hot ones the easy jobs.

The other part of me is miffed that I no longer have the sweet sweet eye candy.

Though I can rent pronos now guilt free, so there are benifits to this.

I rented From Hell with Johny Depp which looked really good. Turns out after watching it, I think it is even better then I thought it was going to be.

For those of you not familiar with From Hell and/or have not seen it yet. I promise not to give any spoilers on the movie. Well, any that you wouldn't have already known that is.

The movie is based on Jack the ripper. A man quoted to having said, "When they look back, they will say I gave birth to the twentieth century."

Though I'm not totally sure where that quote comes from, but I do remember seeing it on a Discovery channel show about Jack the ripper.

First off, this movie looks fantastic. Bright, vibrant colors accentuate the more guesome parts of this movie.

And the attention to detail was quite clear. Except for when it becomes speculitive in its theory, the facts are pretty much right on. From police reports to eye witneses, they worked them well into the plot, seamlessly connecting them to the ficticious portions of the movies. Carefull to use as much history in it that its creditable, giving more credence to ending.

Though I do have one bitch about the movie. Early on in the movie, they show a surgical instruction class as one of the doctors gives what sounded like a full frontal lucotamy to a patient.

In case you don't know what one of those is, its a means of giving someone a lobotomy without actually cutting there head open.

Except they showed scar marks on the patient later on her forehead and at her temples, which wouldn't be a full frontal lucotomy since all you do there is slide a ice pick like instrument up over the right eye into the frontal lobe.

Ok, so they took some liberaties here, I can live with that. Though this does lead to the only falsehood during the movie I can think of.

Later, Johny Depp's character speaks to the patient to try and get some hints to help out his case. And the lobotomised patient actually talked to him.

Uh, no, sorry to burst your bubble, but that aint happening. You get a lobotomy and pretty much all you are doing is drooling on yourself as nurses bath, feed, and clothes you. Maybe an incoherent grunt or growl once and awhile, no actual coherent speech.

Other then that I really did enjoy the movie. I really liked there idea on who was Jack the ripper and why he disapeared. Very feasible plot if I do say so myself....and I did.

Just as a note to you who have seen the movie. There is a freemason "club house" about five blocks where I live. Then again I do live in a county called Mason.

I also rented Serendipity with John Cusack. Bonus points for having John Cusack. I've been a big fan of his since the eighties. He has made some off beat, quarky love stories in the past. Serendipity not being one of them.

Sure, its a love story, but its not really off beat and quarky. Its more along the lines of a "Cinderalla" type of story. Majestic love story with under tones of mysticism and fate that brings the two lovers together.

Makes for a very predictable plot. You just know the two of them are going to be together. Though the beauty of these kind of stories is if told well, near the end of the you are chearing for the lovers to finally come together. Sure its highly unrealistic, but in a world so harsh and filled with stress. Sometimes its good to have these kind of movies.....a reminder that life isn't all bitter moments and flaming piles of shit.

Now me, I really preffer a more realistic type of love story.

Lets use High Fidelity as my example since it connects to Serendipity via John Cusack. Plus its a real kick ass movie featureing John Cusack at some of his greatest.

Now when you first see this movie, you might quiestion the idea of being a love story, but when you look deep enough into the movie, it is.

John Cusack's charcter is a aging record store owner set in his ways and loves for music. The record store a real postive move in his life, but getting comfortable in his misery and complacent in his life, he grows to be less focused on his life and more focused on crituqing musical tastes and making top five lists about everything.

You find off early in the movie that Cuscack's charcter has just ended a long term relationship with a woman who he tries playing off as being special to him, but you just know after a point he is in denial. Well, this end has set his life into a tale spin so he does the only thing he knows what to do about it.

Make a top five list of worse dumps by women in his life.

Through the movie he talks about these moments plus many others of his past. Tries to piece together what went wrong with all his relationships to see if its just a bad turn of luck that every relationship he has had with a woman turned bad after a point, or is he responsible in some way of making them all end.

Through out this movie he discusess this to you the viewer, ponders his life, and tries to come up with answer of "where did it all go wrong". As he is doing this, you see understated fact that shows you why it always seemed to go wrong with him, especially in his most current relationship.

His record collection.

Now think about this one. He has a very extensive record collection, and each one of them holds a special place in his heart. What this shows you is a man with a great heart to love, to hold such things so true and near to his heart that it becomes a passion for him. It also shows you his limitation of loving things that never change. The safe zone, loving something that you know will never change and always remain the same way as the first time you come to love it. Thats a safe feeling, to know you can turn to this "love" and know that nothing has changed about. No curve balls, no mysteries out of the blue, its the same thing you come to love.

There comes his limitations and his problems with love. He does not handle change very well, and seeing as every relationship goes through changes constantly, this cause turmoil in his happy little world.

And happy I mean he settled down with the first thing he was some what happy with then gave up on all his higher goals in life....complacency.

This, we come to find out is the reason she left him and the reason he did the stupid shit he did to make her leave him.

Which he comes to grips with eventually after he analysizes his life, tries and relive some of his past, and goes through his daily life of dealing with friends and accutances. He finally realizes that this was the one, the woman that was meant to be, and he let it slip from his grasp.

So with a determined heart, he sets out to regain the love of a woman he holds so dear to his heart, a woman who will change him only for the better.

I love this movie for not looking like its stereo typical love story. For the fact that it goes about the love story in a more sublte means by diverting your attention to his daily life and him dealing with his past.

So personally I enjoyed High Fidelity a whole lot better then Serendipity for being more realistic.

Damn, now that I talked about it so much on here, I'm going to have to go rent High Fidelity again....maybe even buy that mofo.

Heh.....I do have this "found" money sitting in my pocket.

VIVA FOUND MONEY!




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!