HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2002 - 2:11 A.M.

TITLE
Ahoy you rat bastard computer!

ENTRY

So lets just run down the list of things I've gotten for my new computer aka Fernando.

1. New Optical mouse with a wheel.

2. Gel wrist pad and Tazmanian Devil mouse pad.

3. 17" brand spankin new monitor with three colorfull little parrots in the upper left hand corner.

4. New Gforce2 64MB video card.

5. New 56K internal modem *cause the old one wasn't working right, which is now, so new modem is useless*.

6. A strip of 256MB SDRAM, effectively doubling my current RAM.

I get all these things to make Fernando happy and what does it do to me? Raises a mutiny against me with the OS and completely craps out on me.

With my modem crapping out on me all the time, my floppy drive locking up my comp any time its used, and shitty programs creating conflicts. My OS grew more and more unstable tell I finally fixed all my hardware problems.

Hardware problems fixed, double my RAM....yeah that sounds like a good time to broadside me with a corrupt and/or missing file that results not only in stopping WinXP from loading, but making reformating impossible.

I know I've only had this computer for about a month now, seventy percent of that time dealing with problems and/or trying to fix it to make it run again, but I'm about two seconds away from shooting a cannon ball through that bastard.

Ok, I got this ancient ass computer as back up, and as slow and annoyingly crappy as it is. At least it is reliable enough to actually run error free.

So I decide to explore my options online, find a few tutorials, ask a few more computer savy people for some help. Finally I'm directed to part of MSN's website about why I don't have a boot floppy with my CD. Seems from XP and on they will no longer be giving out a boot floppy. As is now, if you happen to need a boot floppy for XP, you have to download a program from the site that will make the six boot floppies you need to start reforamting your hard drive and installing your CD-ROM drivers. After that, the CD has to finish the reformating of your hard drive.

So I plundered MSN for this hidden treasure in hopes of giving my computer the kick in the booty it needs to work properly.

Yeah it WOULD work if the program didn't say with each damn floppy I tried "sector not found, would you like to try again?" Old floppies, brand new floppies, previously used floppies, recently formated floppies. Didn't matter none of them worked.

Same problem came when I found a few other applications that did a similiar thing to the computer. Just wouldn't transfer over to the floppy like I needed to.

So I said fuck it, I'm sick of fucking around anymore. So now Fernando is sitting in a shop getting repaired and reformatted yet again. Only this time the price seems to be a little higher and its going to take twice as long to fix it as has for anything else I've had fixed there.

Computer Geek: Its going to cost between twenty five to fifty bucks and take a week to fix.

ME: What is this nonsense you give me you scurvy wench!

Ok so I didn't actually say that. I was more like "oh" while fighting off my lower lip quivering thus sending me into uncontrolable weeping. Though as geeky as they all are there which would allow them to understand my blight, it still wouldn't of look good.

Now thats even more money out of my pocket, but at this point I don't give a fuck. As long as my computer is running properly and error free I'll be a happy bastard.

Though I swear if I get that computer back and have problems like I've had from them in the past. I'm going down there and poking out each of there eyes then forcing them at gun point to wear eye patches with the words "King Fuck Nut" printed in red like a scarlet letter.

Ok I had so much more I wanted to say on this entry, but I'm just exhausted right now. Plus I've been so blah for the past few days my writing has suffered because of it. I just haven't been motivated enough to want to do it. Even when I try to force it, all I get is a bunch of crap that is wholey nonentertaining.

Pretty much what this entire entry is.


And one last final note....

Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!