HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Sunday, Jan. 20, 2002 - 2:24 A.M.

TITLE
Movies...damn, I love'em.

ENTRY

"What ever did you do to change the world?"

Pay it Forward

Tonight I watched the movie Pay it Forward for the first time and I have to say I was blown away by this movie. By all the previews it looked like it was going to be a good movie, but I had no clue HOW good of a movie it would be.

It stars Kevin Spacey with burn scars all over his face, a drunken Helen Hunt and her child Haley Joel Osment *that kid from Sixth Sense*.

Now its a simple idea this movie is based on, and is named after. What you do is "pay it forward" which means you do three favors, one for three different people. Do something for them that they couldn't do for themselves, and when you do it all you ask in favor is for them to pay it forward to three different people which those three people then pay it forward to three different people and so on and so forth.

I won't go into great depth about this movie in case you want to see it, but hate when plots and major points of the movie are revealed to you. I know I hate it personally, kills off most of the fun of watching the movie when someone feels the need to describe in there own words how it went.

The movie has a very good message behind it, a certain faith in this honor system, this passing on of good will. It leaves you with a sense of hope that something like this could happen, to pay it forward. It leaves you thinking of how it could be, how if enough people did this and kept it going, that this world will be a little less shitty.

I will give you advance warning though, the ending is a tear jerker, so be ready with a box of tissues if you are the type to cry during movies. Hell, even if you are not normaly the type, grab some tissues anyways. Me I don't cry during movies but rarely, and admitely this movie moved me deep inside, felt tears well in my eyes as I watch the ending.

I highly recomend this movie to anyone out there, and personally it has become a favorite of mine just from watching it once.






Paying a visit to View Askew's web page last night, I decided to check out a side article they had about the most recent movie, Jay and Silent Bob Strikes Back.


Jay and Silent Bob Strikes back DVD pre-order

Oh my god I'm on the verge of pre-ordering a copy of the DVD through them. If you do, which it does cost a bit more money then if you bought the DVD at the store, Kevin Smith personally signs the copy! How fucking cool would that be, to not only own it on DVD but to have it signed by him.

My god I know I can afford it if I make a few sacrfices on some other things, nothing important like bills or anything. I am worried about spending the money and wishing I had it later, but at the same time I gotta have it. As long as I can cover all my bills and anything else important cash wise, and I have enough left over to do it, I'm definetly going to order one of these bad boys.

Now will I have the willpower to buy ONLY that when I could get a shit load of other wicked ass View Askew shit like t-shirts, scripts, posters, film stills and all that good shit.

Yeah, it will be a test of willpower, but at the same time I hate being so broke I gotta count pennies for a can of pop. So I'll just have to fight the urges and JUST get the DVD.....and maybe something else.

Damn, I'm cracking under the preasure already.

Oh man! A bluntman and chronic comic book......I didn't see THAT!

Oh I'm going to be so broke it isn't going to be funny.

But I love me some View Askew shit, I'm telling you.

Speaking of which, I was speaking to my mom about pickup up the DVD of J&SBSB and we got to discussing about Kevin Smith's movies.

Which she tells me she loves Dogma the most since she grew up in a strict catholic household and went to catholic school, she really apreciated the humor in religious aspects mentioned during the movie that would not be common knowledge even to the claimed die hard catholics.

There is just something cool about someone growing up in a strict relgious background and still able to laugh at relgiious jokes.

Of course it doesn't hurt the majority of said people became so desensitized by religion when it was crammed down there throat during there entire youth.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!