HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2002 - 5:45 A.M.

TITLE
What do you mean I got a freakin accent.

ENTRY

"With karate I kick your ass, here to Tietamen's square. You broke the rules, now I rip out all your pubic hairs...you mother fucker."

Tenacious D, Karate

Well, it seems I might have peeved at least one Canuck with my talks about curling.

Yeah, I know its a game of strategy and don't get me wrong, I love a good strategic game. Its just it doesn't fit in with the rest of the olympics.

It seems the strategy of every other event in the olympics, part of the strategy, make yourself as fit as humanly possible so you play stronger, faster, and better then your opponents.

With curling you could be knocking back a few beers while inhaling some onion rings, and its "training" since the extra weight will give your puck some extra forward momentum.

I really just don't get why its there.....but then again I don't have much room to talk. My country's idea of the ultimate pass time.....baseball.

Jesus, talk about a perfect thing to watch when you want to take a nap. Well perfect next to watching golf on TV, those announcers I swear are so quiet so they don't wake you up for a freakin chip shot.

Curling on Canadian TV all the time....jeez, don't you guys have something else to watch. I mean to have it on ALL the time, you'd think you don't have any orginal broadcasted shows there.

Like...mid twenties prime time drama Toronto 75932 aye. This weeks episode, Wendy cries on Gregory's shoulder cause Kyle made fun of her winter fat.

heh, sorry....couldn't resist a little Canadian humor.

Don't get me wrong, I like Canada, its a beautiful country. Hell, I'm even part Canadian myself. Ok, so I'm part French Canadian, but a man is allowed his flaws aint he.

Or how I like to say when comparing French Canada to France. French Canada, all the additude but none of the scenery.

Told that joke to a guy from Quebec once, he nearly laughed his French Canadian balls off.

Speaking of Canada, aparently I did realize a simple little thing about Michigan accents that other people seemed to hear.

Well, let me clarify that, a friend of mine went to George Mason College in Washington D.C., one of the most diverse colleges coming to ethniticity. You have students there from all over the world, a melting pot of all kinds of cultures and beliefs one one campus.

Now it seems from her Michiganer accent, the majority of the people thought she was Canadian at first.

Huh, whats that all aboot.

So she is telling me about all these people who thought she was Canadian, even people in Jamica thought she was from Canada at first. She is telling me how when she hears her friends from here, she can hear it in our accents what they all heard in hers.

What, I don't have a freakin accent.

Then, a few weeks later I recieved a phone call from another female friend of mine. So I'm listening to it on my answering machine, and I'm realizing I could hear her Michiganer accent quite thickly and I realied...damn, it does sound a lot like a Canadian accent.

Holy shit, I DO have a freakin accent!

Well, I would have to say mine isn't nearly as bad as hers, since something about her voice draws the accent out more, but now I finally see what my George Mason friend means.

Jesus, this may explain why every Canadian film, TV, and music star out there, when I hear them talk, I don't hear a distinguishalbe enough accent to make them sound different from me.

Course not, turns out I sound just like them.

So now it seems I have an accent that can be mistaken for a Canadian one, add this together with on occasion mistake of Indian heratige, and you are talking about a few identity crisis here.

Though the indian heratige bit, seems to many people think you are part Indian just because you have long, thick, real dark brown hair.

It has got to be my hair since my pasty ass white skin sure isn't whats getting them wondering.

Strange thing is though, I have been asked that quiestion mostly by people with partial or majority Indian heratige.

Though one of them tried claming that since I'm part French Canadian, it meant I also had some indian heratige running through my blood.

Guess I skipped the day they talked about the legions of frech accented Indians roaming around the Canadian wild front.

Now don't get me wrong, if I did have some Indian blood in my veins, that would be cool. But call me strange, I just don't run around claiming heratige to it just cause my hair is long and that bullshit about French Canadian because it makes you cool for being part indian.

I'm pathetic, but not enough to falsely claim heratige.






Holy christ covered in cheese, deep fried, then shoved on a stick! Is it ever freakin cold as hell out right now. Begining to look like a more normal Michigan winter here. Which roughly tranlsates to, so much white shit every where it gives coke addicts the fits when there run out of the nose canday.

This freakin state I swear,nice casual weather for weeks on end then overnight...icey tundra.

I swear its not been twenty four hours since I could see the sidewalk free and clear. Now, as I look out my window, blowing snow everywhere and plows up and down the sidewalks, the only way I can see the sidewalk now.

They have already cancelled school......I don't mean specific schools, I think the concept of education in Michigan has come to a abrupt stand still for today.

Which was one thing I kind of miss from my child hood, snow days. When you wake up and look out your window at all the snow blowing around, heaps of fresh show everywhere. Then you anxiously sit next to a radio or turn on the news on TV and hope in all those school canceling, that yours is on the list.

There was nothing more thrilling then to see your schools name on the cancled list. Knowing that you may be up now, but thanks to mother nature, you get to spend that entire day away from the place you dread most.

Though like any good high, there is the severe let down. When you see all the schools in the surounding cities canceled, but find out you are stuck with trudging through the shit. Mumbling and grumbling all day, knowing that the fuckers in the city north of you are out sledding and having snow ball fights when you are trapped in school.

Then there was the ultimate tease in this all, the school delay notice.

Yep, you are watching them scroll through all the schools that are canceled, your heart leaps into your throat, your eyes grow wide when you see your school's name on there and......two hour delay.

D'OH!

Talk about a dick tease. Yeah its cool you don't have to go to school for another two hours, which makes the school day two hours shorter then normal, but you still have to trudge through this shit when it comes time. So instead of crawling back into that comfortable, toasty bed, you instead spend the next two hours hoping like hell the weather gets worse so they change that two hour delay into a concelation.

Which usually never happened.

You know, somewhere in this entire entry, I did have a point to make.....I think. Instead I just rambled on about Canadians, accents, and shitty Michigan weather.

I think I'll end this now before I start rambling about conspiracies in McDonald's food chains or some shit like that.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!