HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Thursday, Jan. 23, 2003 - 2:27 A.M.

TITLE
Really I'm not sure if it's bad that I'm this obsessed with theaters.

ENTRY

Not to long ago there was an article in the local newspaper about the only theater in town. Apparently the owners want to abandon there current theater and build a new one.

At first this sounds like a really great idea. One this theater is very small, only has four theaters in it. Because it�s so small they are picky about the movies they get. If it�s not going to earn them a good amount of money they won�t get the movie. So unless it�s a major block buster kind of movie, we are not getting it. This has made me miss out on the chance of seeing a lot of movies I was dieing to see in a theater.

The problem with them building a new theater is the area they are currently thinking of moving. It�s far out on the highway and putting them much closer to the small ass town, if you can call it a town, then it would here. Considerably closer to them actually.

Right now I live two and a half blocks away from the theater. If they move to the location they are thinking of then it will be three miles away.

That means I won�t have a simple walk to the theater anymore. That means that if I don�t have a ride to and from the theater I have to be very careful seeing a movie. I will then have to ride the bus service which shuts down at seven thirty at night. I can pre-schedule a ride to as late as nine o�clock, but that is not very late.

I�ll have to take in account movie length when deciding to set my time to be picked up. This also means if movies only run later at night, like there is only a show at nine o�clock, I need to weasel a ride from someone then.

And, alright I have to admit this part, it takes away some of my �cool� factor. I don�t have much as is, but I don�t want seeing what little I have already be cut down even more. How cool will I be when I have to take a bus, normally used by senior citizens and little kids whose parents can�t pick them up after school, to the theater?

Also you have to take in the consideration of a possible date. Sure I haven�t had one in�well longer then I�m willing to admit on here, but that�s not the point. Say I managed to con a woman into going on a date with me. Or she has a sudden case of temporary insanity just long enough to say yes and not back out. It�s not going to look good for a first date if I have to call up the short bus to pick us up.

I mean the only thing that could be worse is if I had one of my parents drive us to the theater like two little children.

Please pin a note on my chest to remind me �to much pop gives me gas� would you?

And on a note less geared to my happiness. The loss of the theater down town would be a striking blow to an already failing down town area. Even with those expensive condos going up and them �beautifying� the area, shit isn�t going good for the little shops down here. There are so many abandon buildings around here, some that have been abandoned for a very long time. The owners of a lot of these buildings are just unreasonable for rent for some of these buildings. One in particular is a corner shop right at the heart of downtown. That place has had more new shops in it then anywhere else. Why, because the first three months he gives you reasonable rent then he jacks the price up about time fold.

That�s pretty much true with several other buildings down here. That or they flat out ask for to much money in the first place. So no one can afford to keep up with the rent prices that are asked. Especially during the winter time when business is very slow.

Add on the fact anything new built in this town is built way out on the highway. Nothing new comes downtown anymore unless it�s a little �mom and pop� like store. If it�s a major store, any kind of chain store or restaurant, it�s built about two miles away from downtown. So that means people who came from out of town don�t have as much reason to come all the way into town then. Everything they need or want is out on the highway.

So pretty much the only allure to coming this far into town is the fact you have to pass through town to reach the beach.

That�s why I�m hoping like hell the City gives enough bribes to the owners to get them to build it downtown. Even though this does have its problems like there is nowhere big enough to build a large size theater without knocking down a few other buildings.

Now if I had a car this, personally, wouldn�t be as much of a problem for me.

Then again if I had a decent working car I would be in heaven. Then I could plan weekly trips out of town. Take weekly trips to the theater of my dreams with its 28 theaters and three concession stands. Three mother fucking concession stands!! Can you believe that shit? Also the place has one of those fully amerceable rides. You know the kind. You get into a shuttle looking thing, belt up in a seat, then watch some video that the shuttle shifts around with to make it feel like you really are ridding that roller coaster or whatever the ride is.

If that isn�t enough for you then maybe the decent sized arcade might change your mind. Or how about the art gallery in the front lobby that show cases local artists.

And what�s that I see directly across the street? Why yes it is an amazing Applebee�s restaurant with its super tasty foods.

For a movie buff like me this is what I call heaven on Earth.

Just the thought of planning a weekly trip down there excites me. Making sure I get up at a much more reasonable hour. Gathering up a collection of CD�s to listen to on the trip there and back. Putting on some good clothes, splashing on some cologne, grabbing up a pack of cigarettes and my lighter. Getting in my car and just cruising the highway all alone with my thoughts and good music.

I�d spend the entire day watching movies in that gloriously big theater. Checking out the local mall, do some browsing. Then when it�s all done have a nice, quiet meal at Applebee�s then take that long ride home.

To me I can�t think of anything better or more fun to do. Either it be me alone or with a friend, or if I�m really lucky, someone special to me.

Sometimes it�s good to be easily amused.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!