HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Saturday, Feb. 01, 2003 - 3:49 A.M.

TITLE
And your question is: What is the worst possible vehicle you could use for a "high" speed police chase?

ENTRY

So right now I�m seriously wondering what more then four hours asleep feels like since I don�t remember the last time I had it.

I have no one to blame other then myself.

No wait, that means taking personal responsibility and that�s not popular in this country.

Hhhmmm ok I�m blaming Sim City 4 for being interesting enough to keep me entranced for many hours and allowing me to lose complete track of time. I blame friends who insist I shouldn�t sleep all day and have this quirky idea that getting up before the sun sets is a good idea.

What the hell do they know??

Anyways this time I have a severe lack of sleep do to getting that cable modem I mentioned. Since I�m so �brilliant� I decided to stay up all night and head out early morning to pick up the self installation kit.

Hell I stay up late enough on average already that going somewhere first thing in the morning means staying up an extra hour or two.

Do I factor in the hours of retrieving it, fucking with my cable lines to run one to the computer, and the installation of the modem?

That would be a resounding no. I�m normally a very logical kind of person, but sometimes I�m known for the purest form of stupidity known to mankind.

And here will be a shocker for all of you I�m going to cut this story short. I know what a shocker. Me writing anything short on here. It�s unheard of!

Well I have something else I want to talk about more then this, but I felt like getting this out of the way.

So I leave the apartment at nine in the morning and assume I�d be up a maximum of another two hours. Around one thirty in the afternoon I was finally informed they will have to send out a service guy to put a signal booster on my line. As it is now the cable is too filtered, thus weakening the signal, to run my cable modem.

Now I could have it up and running right now if I was willing to stay up another undetermined four to six hours, but I had been up about thirty hours by then. I was exhausted. I�ll wait till tomorrow.

For now it is sitting right next to my computer, little lights on it flashing. It�s taunting me with its greatness versus my simple dial up connection.

But not come sometime between the hours of eight and ten tomorrow morning. Then it will be up and working and I shall be downloading like a mofo!

Sad this is the brightest moment in my life right now.


I decided to watch some TV while waiting for them to set up my cable modem account this morning.

Did any of you happen to see the big �police chase� that happened during the afternoon?

If you are unaware of this, please, let me enlighten you. It seems some guy in Florida had the bright idea to hijack a mail truck.

This, by far, was the saddest, slowest police chase I have ever witnessed. There on the roads cruises along this white mail truck driven by an armed criminal on the run. Behind the van is a parade of twenty squad cars following along. Not once during the car chase did the speeds ever reach above forty five miles per hour.

People, this isn�t a police chase we are witnessing. It�s an impromptu parade thrown by the local police and postal office.

Seriously the way it was going I wouldn�t have been surprised if this �chase� was staged. Any moment I expected O.J. Simpson to pop his head out the window as if it was some big joke on America. Like the entire country was being set up for an episode of Candid Camera and boy did they ever get us!

It was either that or some kid passing the train of police cars on his peddle bike.

Even the reporters knew no one was going to take this scenario seriously. They kept trying to point out this chase started with some gun play before he hijacked the mail truck, but come on. This was like watching Speedy Gonzales�s cousin, Slow Poke Rodriguez, in a three state police chase after popping a handful of Xanax.

How �brilliant� was this man when he decided to steal the slowest vehicle on the roads next to a Quaker�s horse and buggy? Oh I know, steal a mail truck. Then it goes from a felony to a federal crime. My guess is he feels that prison sex is just not violent enough for him in a regular State Prison. As all hardened criminals know if you truly want to get your freak on it�s the Federal prisons you need to get in.

I�m not sure what most astonishes me about this episode of criminal stupidity. That the guy thought he could get away with it. That he picked the one vehicle amongst multi-thousands that result in possible long term federal prison sentence. Or the fact this chase that never even broke the damn speed limit managed to take almost six hours to finish.

Seriously I�m to sleep deprived to contemplate this anymore. This much idiocy with very little amount of sleep is bound to make my head explode.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!