HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003 - 8:53 A.M.

TITLE
Shitty television I must have a cable modem.

ENTRY

Let me ask you. Is it cool to bring back jokes about Bush Senior�s presidential reign since his son is in office?

Seriously because I have a shit load of Dan Quayle jokes I�m wishing to get off my chest.

It�s not?

Damn, that�s the breaks, kid.

Ah well I don�t know what I�m complaining about. It�s not like Bush Jr. doesn�t give us plenty of material to work with.

Speaking of material it wasn�t till several hours after I wrote that last entry that I realized I forgot to touch on a few points during that rant. Which is too bad because out of context they lose a lot of there zeal and potential for mirth. Hell I started off the entry talking about my growing hatred for so many things on television and I didn�t even touch my growing despise for �reality� television.

Really does every network now need a minimum of five �reality� based shows with another half dozen in the works? Whatever happened to creativity and developing new shows with plots, character developments, and laugh tracks? Now everyone just tries and think of new ways to put people in �real� situations with twists to it. The only creative aspect to that are the editors cutting the footage together to keep them from looking like flaming idiots.

They�re real bad about that part though.

Now to focus the continuing rant a bit more I�d like to give a double bird to the Fox network.

They have taken the reins of �reality� television and are tugging on those fuckers so hard I�d swear they are trying to snap the horse�s neck. If it�s not �reality� television then it�s �the world�s worst� insert embarrassing or potentially lethal situation here.

Anything decent on that channel gets cancelled because of poor marketing strategy. Anything with a plot and a set of actors for the cast gets preempted on a regular basis and/or moved to a different night of the week. How the hell do you keep up with a show when it�s not on for weeks and quite possibly not even on when you think it�s on? Then they cancel the show and wonder where all the show�s ratings went.

Gee, I wonder why, asshole.

Ah fuck I�m tired of talking about this subject. Let�s move on.


Well after a substantial chunk of change taken from my pocket I have found a new obsession for me. And it goes by the name of Sim City 4.

I�ve always had a serious fascination with the Sim City games, but this one whips all its predecessor�s asses like a metal fan at a Yanni concert. And if you are a big fan of The Sims games then you�ll probably love this game too. Especially since Sim City 4 allows you to import your favorite The Sims characters and place them in the cities you build.

How fucking cross over cool is that?

My only problem with the game is that it�s a serious pain in the ass. I can get a city going pretty good. I can even fill up the entire terrain with filled zones and all kinds of neat extras. The problem is I can never manage to do this without having a yearly expenditure that is extremely higher then the money I take in. I try building slower so I don�t create such a larger yearly expenditure, but then I�m not building enough to make my damn people happy.

We want more homes, jobs, and god damn I need to shop at more fucking stores!

Seriously if I don�t figure out how to keep my costs down and my take in money higher the only way I�m going to reach those kick ass sky scrapers is when I find a cheat for �endless money.�

Ok that�s enough with boring you with my geekdom turn to full force.

Let�s move on again.


So I�ve been giving it some serious thought and I realize boy do I fucking hate dial up.

IT�S SO FREAKIN SLOW!

Sure rights now it�s only costing me a mere ten dollars a month for unlimited access dial up. And yes it will cost me three times that much money for a low end cable modem. This doesn�t seem like so much on its own, but factor in other bills, expenditures, and a blinding urge to find new shiny objects. Then we are starting to talk about that extra twenty bucks can be a serious cut into anything fun for me.

Then I realize how much time a day I spend on the internet and that I�m finding more fun on the internet then I am on watching television. And there are so many good movies out now in the theaters I could quite possibly download to my comp and watch before they hit rental shelves. Plus it�s annoying ass hell that I can only download a song or two in three hours on dial up. This bogs down my bandwidth so badly it�s like sticking Louie Anderson in a Geo Metro. Expect a kid on a bicycle to pass that car at any moment.

Fuck it, I�m calling the cable company today and getting me a cable modem.

FINALLY I can download decent por�I mean music and movies.

Yeah, that�s my intentions.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!