HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Sunday, Jan. 27, 2002 - 2:48 A.M.

TITLE
Yep, more movies, but look, I actually do talk about something else to.

ENTRY

"Give me your gun. Don't worry, you are safe with us."

Kiss of the Dragon

So I watched an intersting movie tonight called Series 7.

If you haven't picked up on the fact I mentiong a lot of different movies in here, I'm what you call a "movie buff" or a more popular term "geek with to much time on his hands".

That joke is a lot funnier if you imagine me doing the little quote mark things with my hands while giving you a serious, but goofey look.

Ah see, much funnier that way.

So I'm watching this movie Series 7, which was adviously low budget.

It was an intersting comentary on society and "reality television". We keep seeking to push the boundries further, see what we can get away with, then when thats past we seek something else we can get away with.

This movie is an over dramatization of this concept. What it is suppose to be is a complete season or "series" of a television show called "Contender".

The idea for the show is simple, there can be only one.

Heh, you Highlander geeks will get a chuckle out of that line.

Anyways....

There can be only one winner of the six "contenders". For the next "series", a new location is picked and a lottery is drawn up using your social security numbers. From this they get five random particapents to the show. A special "Contender" squad rushes to this person's house, gives them a gun and a camera man and are told "you must kill the other contenders and your prize is your life."

So the do as other "reality television" shows do, a camera follows the people around with some kind of soundtrack always playing, cutting in with interview bits of the "contender" talking about the show and what they have to do, justifying there actions because, "they have to."

In retrospect, the show is a mix of "reality television" over dramatized and a book called "the lottery". Which in the book, a sacrifice of a maiden must be made once a month, so to do this they write all there names down and put it in a receptical which then someone draws a single name and that is the sacrifice of the month.

The closest representation of that book I have seen in a movie was a movie called "Dragonslayer". Where to apease the large dragon in the moutains, all unwed maidens where put into a barrel and drawn by a "lottery" and which ever name was drawn, was the maiden sacrificed to the apetitie of the cataclysmic dragon.

A preaty good movie if a bit cheesy with some shitty acting at times, and funny when I'm not sure they meant it to be funny.

Heh, I should do movie reviews, thats something that wouldn't need for me do much more then what I already do and don't get paid for....so why not get payed for it.

Ok, so who out there is looking for a movie reviewer and willing to pay out a little sumphin sumphin.

Heh, I didn't think there would be.

Oh, speaking of movies, we are a month away from Jay and Silent Bob Strikes Back. I'm practically giddy here, especially since shortly after that a band that has come to move me and I feel I can connect with strongly for the past seven years is finally coming out with a new album coming this March.

I would say the name of the band, but I get enough shit from opinonated "thinkers" about loving this band.

God damn nay sayers, always with your damn......nay saying!

And no I'm not talking about the Backstreet Boys or any cany pop bullshit like that. Wait, are they even still around anymore?

Uh, don't answer that, I really don't want to know.

Which reminds me of a point I want to make. If you are five members of a band and the only thing you do musically is sing and you STILL have to have back up singers. There is REALLY something wrong with you guys.

Dude, seriously, you need to seek help or learn how to play guitar or drums or even a fucking tamborine. Shit, show SOME kind of talent other then making teeny boppers pee themselves as you sign there pre-pubesent chests.

Oh, and as a note to the long haired memember to one of those bands, shave your face and grow some breasts and you would make a cute chic.

I'm not saying I would be into you, but if you where in prison you would be the most popular bitch in the joint.






So ever since I found a treasure trove of good, heavy CDs used at the music store, I have been rocking out to variety of newer "metal" on my headphones each and everynight I'm on the computer.

Which to many would be to heavy and grinding for there tastes, unable to understand how I could understand let alone fathom how I could be into it.

While others would think, "ppppffffffttttt pussy shit man! You want something that will kick your ass, how about you listen to some Slayer or Creator or Iced Earth or some shit like that!"

Yeah, I kind of like that music, but it doesn't settle inside me well, doesn't mellow with my groove and I don't need it harshing my buzz like that man.

Whoa, how hippy, stoner of me to say it in that way.

Its all a matter of perspective really, which in my mind inevitably leads to bigger isues that are a matter of perspective, but sometimes are considered "fact" in people's minds.

For an example, we will use my machismo levels on this.

Say I'm talking to a bunch of guys about cars and motors, well not talking about it for me, more like subjecting what little knowledge I do know about it.

Now with one woman there, she could find my lack a knowledge a complete lack of true "machismo", not manly enough to step up to the big dogs.

While with another woman she might find what little I know enough of a blinder to think I have to much "machismo", that its practically seeping out of my pores.

It comes down to it, you never know what you are going to get.

Which makes me think of a quiestion that has been contemplated over for who knows how long, but has never been properly answered in the past.

What do women want?

From the get go, this is a trick quiestion and sets up the answer for a downfall.

With a quiestion like that, it assumes that all women think, act, and are the same. That when one reacts a certain way to something, all of them well.

This is what you call a generalization, and as we all know, when you generalize anyone based on gender, race, creed, or what not, in the end you are judging by whats on the outside and ignoring whats on in the inside.

Which makes it impossible to not close your mind off to new ideas, especially those about groups you have already made a generalization.

Now the real quiestion that should be asked is slightly different...

What does the woman in your life want?

Now that is a easier quiestion to answer if you are observant and carring enough.

Does she like to be pampered, treated with respect and dignity, to be your equal, to be loved, to be treated naughty and dirty.

Does she love her feet massaged, or does she preffer cuddling for hours. Does she love when you remember the small things about her, or are the big gestures what mean most to her.

Or, is it all subjective upon what her day was like and how her mood is at the moment.

For all the men who growl,"WOMEN!" There is one thing you seem to be forgetting. In a world where we have a tough time understanding ourselves, what makes you think understanding someone else completely would be an easier task.

With that in mind, it is easier to understand that you will not always understand her, so tolerances should be made when she comes to not be able to understand you.

For all the women who say, "MEN, THERE ALL PIGS!" Is it really fair to generalize all men for the acts of a few. Isn't this the basis of hatred, seperation, and racism. To group similiar people together and make a broad generalization of them based upon a few.

I have never understood this whole "Men versus Women" war that has been going on since time began. Some how we are in this constant cold war, struggling back and forth for some right to be considered better then the other.

Whatever chromosome you are born with, what you got swinging *or not* between your legs decides what side you are on. Shirts versus skin, red team versus blue team, men versus woman. A fine line is drawn in the preverbial sand, and each side sits the sexes grumbling together about those wacky opposite sex types on the otherside of the line and whats there deal??

How are we to reach a world of tolerance and understand when we can't seem to get over the most ancient of generalizations.

When are we going to see someone(s) who will make this line in the sand disapear, kick it away and declare that despite our differences, deep down inside we all want the same thing. We all seek love and happiness, a life we can look back on and be proud of and see a signifigant other traveling this world in our time.

I hear men talking about "chics, there all the same" or woman saying "men, there all the same", and I used to try and defend each sex, speak out that not all of said sex is like that. So either I was "just kissing up to women to get into there panties", a traitor to my sex, or I was "just another stupid male trying to justify all the weird shit you guys do".

You just can't win in a situation like this.

To quote Rodney King, "Can't we all just get along."

A popularly comical line, but no wiser words where ever spoken.

What does it take for us to actually get along, stop generalizing others and accept that each of us is an individual, and like anything individual, it requires a different reaction or prespective for each one.

Can I have an open enough mind to anything but still be considered strong enough to apease a woman. Must I fall within the trapings of my sex in order to consider "manly enough".

These kind of dilemas in life never really have an answer.






Just a bit of an example of this whole "freaky weird" thing my friends seem to be stuck on calling me.

Chrome says:

heh, you suck

Dead Girls dont say No says:

Its not MY fault

Chrome says:

heh....sure it is.....cause you suck ..and your sucktitude has reached out and made your computer reach a level of sucktitude ...heh

Dead Girls dont say No says:

I reak or AWESOMENESS damnit

Chrome says:

heh you reak of SOMETHING, but awesomness is DEFINETLY not it....unless awesomeness reaks of some funky geeky stench....heh

Dead Girls dont say No says:

If the shoe fits dude -L-

Chrome says:

heh oh I do not deny my geekdom....I'm head over heals a geek...only thing I missing is a pocket protector and tape on my glasses......I'm just a cool geek.....heh

Dead Girls dont say No says:

-Snorts- RIIIIIGHT

Chrome says:

heh well I was going to say you are a cool geek too, but since you have a tude....I'm just going to leave you stewing in shitty, nonawesomness geekdom...heh

Dead Girls dont say No says:

-lol-

Chrome says:

deny my coolness all you want......you can not supress the fury of my awesomness for I am COOL GEEK MAN!

Chrome says:

heh, now introducing a new wrestling character to the world....Cool Geek Man!

Dead Girls dont say No says:

-LOL- oh theres a winner

Chrome says:

heh....wouldn't it be......have chromed out glasses with funky tape in the middle, a gold pocket protector and a cape with a giant G on it.....whips out his calculator to work out his odds of kicking someone's ass......formula my foot+your ass=serious ass whoopin....heh, I think I got a gimick here heh

Dead Girls dont say No says:

Only you man

Chrome says:

heh only me what

Dead Girls dont say No says:

only you could come up with that

Chrome says:

heh, well I'm preaty sure others could..but its a quiestion do they REALLY want to....

Dead Girls dont say No says:

Prolly not -L-

Yeah, only me. This coming from a man saying "dead girls don't say no."

I think I'm getting a bad wrap on this "freaky wierd" shit.



Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!