HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Wednesday, Feb. 05, 2003 - 7:52 A.M.

TITLE
Me First and the Gimme Gimmes

ENTRY

Musically speaking I have found me a new obsession.

I�d like to introduce to you less fortunate* people to a band you probably never heard of before.

*don�t worry I was one of you up to a few days ago.

They are called Me First and the Gimme Gimmes. That�s them right up there in the image at the top of this entry.

Who are they? You may be asking.

If your not then there are hired men of a seedy nature on there way to your place now to �beat� some �sense� into your body.

Oh goody they have arrived.

So�are you going to ask who are they now?

Oh very good of you. And yes I know the crow bar and the jumper cables where a bit excessive, but none the less lets move on.

Actually the Gimme Gimmes are made up of members of several different punk bands. Yes I know a how a lot of people feel about punk music. Especially today�s poppy punk that fills the �metal� air waves. Or maybe you just never liked punk in the first place.

Well damn it, don�t be such a picky fucker!

*ahem*

Anyways the Gimme Gimmes have been brought to my attention, by my good buddy Byron, and now I think I�ve found punk rock that the whole family can enjoy. Including your Mother and Father!

Ah shit I think I just lost a few of you with that last comment. Eh, it was the weak ones anyways.

You see the Gimme Gimmes don�t actually write there own music. Instead they do old classics of many generations and redo them with a �punk rock� edge to them. Well it�s a campy punk rock edge that can either have you bouncing to the music or laughing.

Some of the older covers they do are Build me up Buttercup, Hotel California, Seasons in the Sun, Who put the Bomb, My Boyfriends back, Stand By Me. The list goes on and on. Some are, in my opinion, better then the original. Like Seasons in the Sun which, once again in my opinion, the best flat out song they do. It sounds really good and I finally realized what they are talking about in the song.

How the hell was I suppose to know it was about a guy reminiscing before his death brought on by binge drinking and apologizing that he wouldn�t be there soon?

And if that is all you think you are getting from the Gimme Gimmes then let me tell you. You haven�t seen the craziest of it yet.

They have more �recent hits� like Neil Diamond�s Coming to America. Never thought I�d be rocking to Neil Diamond, but then again I didn�t know about the Gimme Gimmes. And others like Uptown Girl, Walking on Sunshine, Rock and Roll all Night, Girls Just Want to Have Fun.

If I wasn�t enjoying this enough then I find out they have redone fucking show tunes!

Have you ever heard a punk rock version of Phantom of the Opera, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory, or Don�t Cry for me Argentina?

Well I have thanks to these guys.

Or how about Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious punked out? Can you imagine that shit?

Jesus they don�t even stop there at classics and show tunes as I came to find.

How about some classic television show themes punk-ed out?

Like Inspector Gadget, Cheers, Happy Days, Gilligan�s Island, and the one that catches my attention most, Fragle Rock.

Fragle fucking Rock punked out!! I remember loving that show as a kid.

And from what I have heard the Gimme Gimme�s next album is all R&B hits. Imagine a Ray Charles song punk-ed out.

Kind of freaky cool isn�t it?

I don�t know why I haven�t heard of this band earlier. This shit is too good to be as underground as it is now. Well ok I live in Michigan and wouldn�t have a clue what�s �on the scene� nor really care.

I�m just saying don�t piss around. You want some good music that is fun to listen to and can get you to chuckle. Well then go out and get yourself some Me First and the Gimme Gimmes.

Trust me you won�t regret this.

And if you do�to fucking bad. I�m not a complaint booth. I don�t get paid for this shit.

For fuck�s sake.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!