HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Thursday, Mar. 27, 2003 - 1:38 A.M.

TITLE
You are ----> here.

ENTRY

Thanks to Kinetix and a link he had on his diary I got to spy my town via satellite photos.

Granted the fact is these photos are considerably old, but still it�s pretty cool to look at. Well it�s cool once you get your bearings straight on the map. Until you find a familiar piece of landscape or land mark it isn�t all that appealing. More frustrating when you realize how little you know about your area of the world once you are looking down upon it.

After about fifteen minutes of tinkering around on the map I finally found the location of my current home. On a map that is roughly ten years old.

So that made things a little more complicated then it needed to be. If it was a much more recent photo it would have been a bit easier to spot where I live since some fairly large land marks have changed or been added since this photo.

Here is a close up map with specific circles to where exactly I live. A dangerous thing to share since now any asshole who wants to can probably find me via this map. But then again how many assholes are actually looking for me?

Yeah probably none so I think I�m safe.

There you can see circled is the Kirby building that I live above. And as you can see I actually live particularly close to where my mom works on a daily basis.

Kind of handy when I turn eight years old at a snap of my fingers and I want my mommy. Usually times only reserved when I�m to sick to think or when I�m poor.

I�m such a good kid aren�t I?

Now for you long time readers you�ll remember me talking about living not that far away from some working car ferries that travel across Lake Michigan to Wisconsin. And as a matter of fact I have a picture for that too.

If you look at this picture and compare one of those boats to the little white building I live in. You can get a grasp at how freakin huge these boats are.

I would have just pieced it all together in one large picture, but it would have been pretty huge and my dial up readers would kill me for the slow ass load time of my diary.

Sure some of you older readers had gotten used to my template designs creating a slow loading diary, but this one is easy on the internet access. Don�t want to fuck around with that now.

Ok , ok stop your begging I realize you are dying to see more of the area I live in. I know, just can�t get enough of me. It�s a curse I swear.

Well figuring that I don�t want to flat out give the exact link to the map thus giving you my city name and easy access to figuring out where I live and how to got there. I�ll take a screen capture of the map and give you a larger, better feel for my area.

Well there you go a better feel of the area I live in with a few land marks with nifty little arrows that are numbered so I can describe each one to you.

1. As you seen in the earlier maps this would be my home. This gives you a better feel of where it is in town. Give you a starting point on the map to get a feel of the city. And right across the street which I�ve conveniently covered up with the arrow is where the brewery/restaurant for the upper class in town to throw away there money in mass quantities on home made beer and decent food.

2. These buildings here no longer exist. This map was taken in about 1993 and up to a few years ago it used to be the police station. Now it�s a large set of condos in a three stage, five year process to help �beautify the city.� Which let me tell you does look very beautiful, but is obviously not intended for people who live here year round. Well not originally, this beautifying is more for the richer people who buy those condos.

The rest of us who actually live in this area just pray the city council doesn�t deem our homes �ugly� and to be torn down in the name of �beautifying this area.�

Now we aren�t stupid enough to tear down our police shop and not put another one. Crime, in comparison to a larger city, isn�t all that bad here, but bad enough. So if you look at that big empty lot right behind the building I live in you�ll see where currently the new police station resides. With a nice, big clock tower.

That should make anyone who has heard me threaten getting a high powered rifle and finding a clock tower nervous enough to not come look for me.

3. This piece of land mark is one of many current monopolies that have a bit of a strangle hold on this town. This one in particular is the only movie theater in town that has a habit of not showing good movies just because they are deemed �not main stream enough.�

Beauty is, as you can see from the map, I live pretty damn close to it. Problem is some of the biggest movies I want to see never seem to come there. Bitter irony?

Well I know I�m personally bitter about it.

4. This is the direction of the beach you can�t see unless I made the map about three times bigger. If it peeks your interest that grey spot by the arrow is the parking lot right in front of the brake wall and next to the long walk out to the light house. A beautiful sight to see, but cold as hell during the winter especially when the wind is blowing enough to knock your ass over. Pretty much if you are having a good hair day avoid this walk like it would give you the bubonic plague.

5. Now this little peninsula within the greater peninsula that is Michigan is called Buttersville. Now I�m not totally sure if that is the correct name of the place, but that�s what everyone I know calls it.

I�m not totally sure if it�s a town of its own, considered to be part of the town I live in, or some other possibility. All I know is that it�s a large, beautiful gated community that supposedly some famous people have or do own houses there.

For the life of me I can�t remember any of the names of said famous people, but then again it could be pure rumor that they live there.

All I know is it�s conveniently hard to get to if you are one of the simpletons that live in this burb. In order for you to hit Buttersville by where this map is you need to drive several miles east of the map till you hit a bridge, drive south for many more miles, then finally turn back west and drive all those miles back.

Breaking it down to you just driving a big ass u just to get around the bay those three car ferries sit in. Which is a very lovely ride and there are a lot of spots over there where you can get a good view, but unless you know someone who owns a house in Buttersville you can�t actually get in. Gated community guards take there jobs way too seriously.


Now don�t you just feel all soft and squishy inside from me sharing the beautiful area I live in?

Yeah try and hold the tears back. Your sentiment is nice if it wasn�t so sarcastic.

Anyways if you want to do a map of your own area on your diary, keep the trend going. Just go here and have fun locating your own area of the world.

Just a little hint if you want to save images of your area and put up on your diary. Don�t right click and save picture on these maps. Each map you see there is made up of tons of little tiles. Which works great if you want just a small image of where you live, but if you want a larger map have fun trying to figure out where one tile ends and another begins so you can piece it all together.

Just do a screen capture of the whole damn thing then crop your browser out of the image.

It�s just that damn simple, folks.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!