HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2003 - 12:45 A.M.

TITLE
Just some random thought.

ENTRY

Here is something that has been on my mind lately.

Actually it pops up from my memories every once and awhile and remember back fondly on this.

There was this short film they made us watch when I was in grade school. Well I actually saw it twice. Once in the original town I was raised in then in the town I live in now. Both cases I saw this short film in grade school.

It was a simple film about humanity living in bunkers away from the outside world. Something had happened that for about 98% of the year the sun is blocked out by constant rain clouds.

So people built and sought shelter in under ground bunkers with tanning beds to give them the proper �sun� they needed on a regular basis.

Basically this film follows a small school class as there antics. One particular little girl being the main focus of the movie. She was quiet and shy *as I remember* and because of this she was regularly picked on by other girls in her class.

Which happens to be the first female character in a film I could ever associate it.

Now I don�t remember the details of this film, but one thing sticks out in my memory. It�s the last part of the film and they are nearing a �big day�.

For like a day of the year the sun comes out and shines down, burning away the clouds, and scattering away the rain.

That one day of the year they are allowed out of there bunkers to frolic in the sudden burst of grass and flowers.

Something unrealistic figuring grass and flowers don�t grow in a matter of half a day, but something not really important to the film.

Free of there concrete existence they are allowed to bask in the beauty of Mother Nature. For only one day a year do they know what the smell of fresh grass, the sweet scent of pollinating flowers, and the feel of nothing but a sky above there heads.

Before this day started the particularly cruel children locked our little heroic girl in a closest then ran off to dance there merrily in the grass and roll around in the flowers.

Pound on the door as she may, no one heard the little girl�s pleas to be set free and rejoice in freedom of there prison like homes for that one solitary day of the year.

Sometime later , after the children�s fun outside and the collecting of all the flowers they can, the little children came and finally set free the little girl from the closest. She burst free of the closest, desperate to catch the last rays of sun beaming down on her angelic little face.

But by time she got outside the clouds had rolled back, the rain started to pour, and the sun had said its goodbye for yet another year.

This girl�s one and only dream was for that rare one day of the year. She craved to be free and feel the sun warming her skin. She lived to feel flower petals brush her cheeks as her senses are overwhelmed by fresh growth.

And she was denied her one chance to have this in a year by rude little children.

So she stood there in the rain and wept deep from the soul.

That�s when you see all those bullies begin to realize the consequences of there actions and begin to feel bad for doing this. Then each child walked up to this weeping little girl and willingly handed over there collection of flowers gathered to help pass those weary, sun free days.

Overwhelmed by the sudden generosity of her bullies her tears went from deep sorrow to tears of joy and happiness.

Even as a young child I knew there was a deeper, very special meaning behind this film.

Now that I look back it was more of an art school film then an actual one. Not the surrealistic �lets try and confuse the living fuck out of the viewers and feel superior when it happens* kind of art film.

Which I think was the beginning of my appreciation for less main stream movies.

But that�s getting off the subject at hand.

This film has stuck with me roughly twenty years now. It has burned itself on my psyche and it appears to me on occasion and I remember the realization I came to even back then.

This short little film, to me, is the representation of realized human ideal.

Seeing as �Utopia� is unrealistic since no one can give up there grudges, anger, and general hatred for others. This would be the closest to an idealistic society I think we can create.

That such cruelties of bullies still exist, but when faced with the reality of there consequences they soon change there spots and show there compassion for a fellow human being.

Even that is highly unrealistic, but close enough to a possibility that it can give hope for a world where people are quick to hate a group rather then individuals.

At least that�s how I see it.


Other then that realization and the fact its starting to get warm out and I�m not liking where its going.

Nothing much else has been happening.

A few doctors� trips that I don�t really care to get into.

That and a general lack of good sleep as of late which is something I�m hoping I can remedy sometime tonight.

And once I�m not sluggish in the brain I�ll give you all a decent entry.

Till then�




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!