HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Tuesday, Apr. 29, 2003 - 11:14 P.M.

TITLE
Why am I analyzing commercials anyways?

ENTRY

Ok so here is a sure sign that I watch to much damn television.

Have any of you seen those new Spam commercials?

Yeah personally I can�t stand the product, but the first commercial was actually kind of funny.

Now I�ve seen another one that continues this same �story line� and I see apparently poles showed that people where a bit freaked out about the first one.

If you are not familiar with what I�m talking about then let explain it to you.

It�s a simple scene of two families in a backyard having a BBQ and talking about the wonders of Spam!

Because seriously my idea of the �ideal American family� is to have BBQ�s with my next door neighbors and discuss the benefits of canned mystery meats.

Now through out the first ninety percent of this commercial you see typical �leave it to beaver� like families gabbing away. All cheery and wholesome and down right good, clean people!

Then you get near the end of the commercial and this little girl says �It�s so good, but it�s to bad we don�t have anymore.�

And that�s when the wholesome father figure with a big smile and warm handshake for anyone turns back and screams �MORE SPAM!� In this severely psychotic voice. Like on the surface he is this white bread and wholesome church going guy who believes in family, friends, and the American way!

But underneath it all is this raging psychopath just begging to bust free. And that�s when his moment comes. Him just waiting for that moment when someone falls for the �oh we�re out of Spam� line so his raging psycho inside can call out to the van full of Spam waiting of in the distance, �MORE SPAM!�

I don�t know why, but I found this to be some funny fucking shit.

Then I see the follow up commercial which pretty much redoes the first commercial only with a slight scenery change. Only this time when he calls out for more Spam he goes from raging psychopath to heavy Ritalin user.

The intensity of the moment is gone thus the appeal of this commercial is gone. I�m thinking they do what any other big corporation does and set control groups to watch the commercial and ask them a series of questions. One of them being does this guy freak you out when he screams, �MORE SPAM!�

Now they have gone and made him all docile and boring taking away what little fun I�m having with Spam.

And�if this first half of my diary entry doesn�t prove I need to seriously reevaluate my life when the most interesting thing I have to talk about is how they�ve taken the psychopath out of a commercial then I don�t know what is.

Pretty meaning�I need a fucking life.


Hm I think it�s about time I contemplate a new template design because this serene green shit is kind of getting on my last nerve.

Originally it was kind of funny to have such a peaceful and serene looking diary. It looks so Zen peaceful like which is such a contrast to what I actually write on here.

So you come here and see such a tranquil looking diary with its light gold�s and shades of green. A simple picture of a foggy road somewhere in Europe leading to what looks like a castle off in the distance. Even a simple banner with a hint of eloquence that has a catch phrase on there that has been referred to as �witty.�

Then you begin reading the diary and you realize all that peaceful tranquility is a illusion to snare you into the strangeness that is me.

One minute you�re ready to walk down that foggy path, holding the hand of your lover, while breathing in rich, clean air. The next minute you�re thrown into a world of bitchery, whining, and foul language that fucks with your head just a little bit.

Well�one can hope at the very least.

But even the illusion of that is wearing thin and I�m thinking its time I come up with a new concept and get to cracking on it.

Which for long time readers I�m thinking they might just be a bit sick of how often I change the look of this diary.

I promise one day I�ll create a template that I�ll love so much I won�t want to change it for�I don�t know�at least six months to a year. Hell maybe if you�re lucky I won�t want to change it at all.

Yeah, but don�t hold your breath on that one. Just get ready to come here and see yet again another drastic change to this diary.

Maybe you�ll like it, maybe you won�t. But I�ll like it a whole lot�for a grand total of a month then I�ll probably ditch it for yet another idea.

Hmm maybe this is one of the reasons why I can�t seem to keep a consistent number of readers.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!