HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Sunday, May. 04, 2003 - 6:57 A.M.

TITLE
A twist on Pay it Forward

ENTRY

Earlier tonight during my weekly poker game I decided to pull out a wad of ones I had stashed in my pocket. It was getting kind of big and bulky so I decided to finally just pull them out, get them as flat as they will go, then put them in my wallet.

While I�m doing this I notice one of the dollar bills is covered in stamp marks on each side. All of them saying the same thing �Where has so and so been! Check it out at *address withheld*

Some guy is using dollar bills to spread the word about his web site. Not a bad idea as long as no one traces it back to him. I mean if they really wanted to he could be charged with a federal offense of damaging and/or defacing American currency.

They could, but unless he does this with millions upon millions of dollar bills I don�t think anyone would bother to prosecute him for it.

But it got me to think about something.

Trinity started doing something like this not to long ago. That�s �pay it forward�.

In case you haven�t seen the movie the concept of pay it forward is you do something good for some random person. If they look like they need some help either it be some money or an ear to talk into. You willingly help them and the only �payment� you require of them is to do the same thing you just did. Find someone else and help them out when they most need it.

Hence the idea of pay it forward�do not wait till someone helps you with something. Instead go out and do something for someone else and maybe the concept will spread.

So with that concept and what I see on this dollar bill here is my little spin on the pay it forward concept.

Now this would be a lot cooler if I had a shit load of readers to spread this out, but who knows. Maybe enough of you will like this concept enough not only to do it, but to talk about it on your own diaries. Especially some of you bigger people here at Diaryland who could spread the word much further then I could.

This is what you do.

Get a couple dollars. Doesn�t matter how many you do. If you can�t afford much then just do one dollar bill. If you got a bit of money and willingness to do this then try doing like ten ones.

Around the border of each dollar put this on there.

Pay it Forward: A concept of helping someone and only asking them to help someone else out in the future. Pass this dollar bill to someone who is need of it and ask that they do the same when the time comes.

If that�s to wordy for you then change it as you see fit, but try and keep the basic concept going.

And if you are really curious maybe add on the back of the dollar bill an area for people who have used it to �pay it forward� to put there initials.

Who knows maybe you�ll see one of these dollar bills again and see several other sets of initials on there.

Now I don�t know if anyone will even do this, but to me it sounds like a good idea. And yes it�s only a dollar bill, but sometimes a single dollar bill can mean the world to a person. Maybe not to you, but for many out there it does.

Anyways this is just a thought I had here extremely late at night.

One that leads me to believe its time for some sleep.




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!