HOME ARCHIVES GUEST BOOK E-MAIL
DIARY LAND FAVORITES LINKS SURVEY
DIARY LAND

DATE/TIME
Thursday, May. 15, 2003 - 4:44 A.M.

TITLE
Its the week that I say fuck it...I'm killin someone.

ENTRY

Didn�t I promise you all one of my �infamous� grocery shopping trip stories in my last entry?

Yeah I did, but that was real early Saturday morning and well now its early Thursday morning and I haven�t posted all week.

You want to know why?

Sure you do! I mean what are you gonna do�work, clean your house, do something productive?

Pfffttttt�save that for the normal people in life. Here�here we bullshit the day away with our rants about whatever is bugging the hell out of us then the rest of us read that rant and think �gee�that�s gotta suck.�

Well hell I might as well keep with the set formula for said wasting of days now shouldn�t I?

So this is how my rant shall start.

It�s early Saturday afternoon. I had cranked out a diary entry the day before after getting all my food shopping done for the month and packed away in the fridge/freezer.

I�ve got fresh meals, I�ve got drinks galore, and I little tasty containers of custard style strawberry yogurt.

Life is good�.for what it can be.

Then I guess with my Al Bundy kind of luck anything good that happens to me is balanced out with shit three times as strong.

Kind of like a fucked up Dr. Sues poem.

As meek and lack of drive his Weeble life may be

The day was long

He could do no wrong

Then the shit stacks on�three.times.as.strong.

See I�m sitting back on Saturday afternoon, feeling the temperatures rise with the humidity levels, and enjoying a good movie.

In case you where wondering that movie was The Transporter. Only I had to stop and think about it for a second because some much shit has been heaped on me in the past five days or so. It was kind of hard to remember the last fun thing that happened to me.

By chance I happened to look over at my computer. Just gave it a brief glance. That�s when I noticed the mightily frustrating and always dreaded blue screen on my monitor.

First thought in my head�.oh shit this isn�t going to be good.

My how perceptive I can be when I�m knee deep in it.

Yes I was quite right this wasn�t going to be good. Seems my OS had a critical operating error and needed rebooting.

But does that fix my problem? Oh hell no I say!

See there are typical problems that happen with Windows all the time. Just hundreds of possible problems already solved by people much smarter then me. Whole web pages dedicated to how this could happen and how you can fix it.

But me�oh I�m the monkey wrench in the clock works. I�m the innovator of new and fucked up ways of having my computer go to shit on me.

I, through the blessings of my ever so fucked up luck, can have OS problems that make IT experts shake there head completely baffled.

And this was yet another moment in my fucked up OS problems that where only solvable by a reformat.

Well unfortunately that had to wait seeing as I had a lot of house work to do. Wanted to get it done before it was to hot to work in. Especially since that�s the night of my weekly poker game.

Little did I know after the poker game I�d be spending the next two days sleeping and reformatting this computer till it�s properly fixed.

Here is a fact I didn�t know till I stupidly managed to perform it. Did you know you can reformat your hard drive with XP and still not do a complete reformat?

Oh yes�sounds like a contradiction doesn�t it?

Ah, but it isn�t which was a pain in the ass and somewhat a blessing at the same time.

See if you don�t wipe out your old partition with all your shit on it, make a new one, and then format it. All it will do is fix all your OS problems and leave your shit sitting there.

Now at this point of the story your thinking �so what the fuck are you bitching about?�

Because yeah that sounds nice�.be able to do a reformat without losing everything unless backed up on disks. Fuck you know people would be running to reformat right at this moment to fix all there errors without losing there shit.

And there would be there problem�.don�t fuckin do it I�m telling you.

Sure you got all your shit there, but it messes with Window XP�s little head when you do this.

It looks at your hard drive, which should be completely clean of everything but itself and the drivers for all your hard ware. Yet it sees all this other crap that shouldn�t be there and it has to stop and wonder...did I come to the right place? Is someone throwing a party without me? Did I pick up someone else�s luggage?

Then it starts doing all kinds of fun things. Like the ever so fun �can�t bring up an already opened window unless you minimize the one you already have open.� Or the ever so joyable �instead of bringing up the window you click we�ll just make it flash annoyingly till every single open window you have is flashing out of sink and driving you completely insane.�

Oh and here is the kicker of it all�the one that�s gonna make you stand back and say �CHROME! That is just some wacky, fun shit!�

I mean...you�d say that if you where as sarcastic as me or really not sure where you are or when the next time is you take your �happy pills.�

You will have all the programs installed in your programs folder as if they are just raring to go, but they�re not. Oh no that�s just an illusion of readiness wrapped with a filet cut of shit ready for you to eat right up.

MMMMMMMMMHHHMMMMM TASTY!

Ok so they are all laid out in the folders ready to go, but none are on the start menu. And, get this, the computer doesn�t recognize the program being on the hard drive when you try and run it!

Oh, but the mirth doesn�t stop there!

If you try and load said program back on the computer�it won�t do it! It says it�s already on there and running or some crap like that.

Well at the very least despite how annoying and plentiful the fuck ups are after you format the computer like this. At the very least I got to, with my two remaining disks, save as much shit as I could.

Unfortunately it was a fraction of all the things I wanted to save. So I lost a lot of shit, but made sure everything I absolutely needed was backed up on disk.

Well in theory that worked out, but in reality not so much. Seems something is wrong with my past back up disks and my computer won�t recognize the disks.

So�disks that worked once before now refuse to work after I�ve finally formatted this computer properly.

With that in mind let me all give you a piece of advice now. Either partition your hard in two parts and put all your important, can�t lose this shit, documents on the partition the OS is not on.

That or get a second hard drive, install the OS on that one as well, then if your first hard drive goes to shit. Rather then booting from CD and reformatting, boot from your other hard drive and move all your shit from the lame hard drive onto your still working one before you reformat that gone to shit hard drive.

Trust me on this�I don�t know anyone else who has had to reformat there computer as often as I have. So I might not know how to keep a computer running properly, but I sure know my shit about keeping your shit backed up properly so that I�m not fucked again in the future.

At least�I fucking hope I do�cause seriously if both my partitions go to shit on me and my two sets of back up disks I�ll be making go to shit on me all at the same fucking time.

That�s it�.I�m setting a precedent in the laws from that day on.

I will make it possible to plead temporary insanity induced by frequent critical OS problems.

Yes that�s right if all that happens I will dedicate my life to making it legal for you and I to be able to physically shove Bill Gates head up his own ass.

I say it�s only fair after all.


Ah so comes late Monday night. I�ve finally properly reformatted this hard drive after partitioning it. I start working on updating the OS because seriously they couldn�t get it right the first time�or the hundredth time as a matter of fact.

I basically get my computer back to how I want it minus a lot of shit I didn�t want and a lot of shit I wish I still had.

This takes me so long that by time I�m back to a comfortable position with all my settings, programs, and instant messengers. I�m too tired to crank out a diary entry raging about how fucked up XP can be.

Not a problem, I thought, after all everything is alright with my computer now. I won�t have to worry about serious critical errors on this computer for quite awhile.

The slate is washed clean, no more crap on here I have to worry about for now. I can just wait till the afternoon or till that the next night to crank out a new diary entry.

And I was right nothing would go wrong with my computer to keep me from making said diary entry.

However the severe case of food poisoning I got�now that kind of made doing a new diary entry sound complicated. I mean after all it wouldn�t be easy to move my computer over to the bathroom since my head was hanging in the bowl more often then not.

So I figured since I couldn�t find a single position to sit, lie, or sprawl on and not feel miserable as hell. The possibilities of sitting in this uncomfortable chair and think coherently through the pain and nausea�yeah that just isn�t going to happen.

Thankfully I didn�t know what actually gave me food poisoning because I didn�t have anything to eat from out. So the only person to blame for this would be me.

And if I�m gonna be the one blamed for my own food poisoning well I sure as shit rather not know what it is or the taint of nausea will forever ruin said food for me.

Kind of like Subway for me�two cases of food poisoning in less then a year and you start to grow weary of eating there.


And now here we are�.me I�m finally making a diary entry after several days of coming up with all kinds of interesting things to talk about, but instead I talk about what kept me from talking about those oh so interesting things with all my fine readers.

All these ever so interesting things, now that I�m free to talk about them in another entry, I bet I�ll forget every last one of them.

Its times like this when I wonder�

Why isn�t anyone paying me to watch this shit on television?




Michael Moore for 2004





PREVIOUS FIVE 

ENTRIES

It's about time - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004
An Honor for Chrome - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004
A great loss - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
a terrible announcement. - Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Chrome speaks: - Friday, Sept. 05, 2003





< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >



[ Registered ]

Take me to a random entry!